PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

redpanda

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 11, 2015
I have been wondering, so I thought I'd ask:
Isn't a seasoned pipe smoker supposed to smoke one blend only ?

ray47

Lifer
Jul 10, 2015
Dalzell, South Carolina
It's really a personal thing and I wouldn't think being a "Seasoned Pipe Smoker" has a lot to do with it. I've been smoking a pipe for 50 yrs and don't think I could smoke just one blend. I am trying to reduce my blends to only 3 or 4 because I want to make things simple.

bentbob

Starting to Get Obsessed
May 13, 2015
I smoked mainly one blend for years - I had the odd foray into different tobaccos but a;ways came back to the first. Over the last four or five years I have rarely smoked the same blend from bowl to bowl.
As Ray47, I keep a stock of five staple blends and then buy a tin every week or so of something I have never tried or haven't had in a while.

jefff

Lifer
May 28, 2015
Chicago
Would you eat only one meal 3 times a day 7 days a week? Would you drink only one wine.. or whisky or beer?

aldecaker

Lifer
Feb 13, 2015
I think it just falls under the "different strokes for different strokes" category. Some are, some aren't. I'm a lover of trying new blends, and have a taste for different blends at different times. I wish I were a one-blend man, for simplicity's sake, but there is just so much good stuff out there!
I have a completely groundless and unproveable theory that being a one-blend smoker is easier if you have a very limited number of choices available.

brian64

Lifer
Jan 31, 2011
I can't imagine it, if for no other reason than because I wouldn't want to smoke a Latakia blend either always or never.

pagan

Lifer
May 6, 2016
West Texas