PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Harv

Lurker
Jun 1, 2024
Pattaya, Thailand
Hey All, new pipe smoker here. I ended up on this forum because I was searching around for tobacco samplers and came across @Old_Newby and his killer deal.

As a side note I'm a Veteran and am going to school for an Applied Math Degree. That means I'll have to do some data analytics, so what better way to learn than with something you're interested in.

I've built a spread sheet and populated it with all the different tobaccos from the sampler, and also some information from TobaccoReviews. There are 86 different tobaccos with around 2-3 bowls of each. I'm gonna be adding to the sheet as I go. Stuff like bowl shape and size, or who knows what, then I can mess with data analytics way down the road. The idea is just throw in a bunch of information and when I'm learning data analysis stuff I'll be able to see if there is anything interesting in with, or that I can do with, the info.

So, I figure I got this table constructed I might as well throw it up here and see if you guys have any recommendations for when to try what, or other data points to keep track of. For what it's worth, this might seem pretty intense but it's just the kind of person I am. This is definitely my version of laid back enjoyment. Just looking for suggestions along the lines of hey looking back to when you were developing your palette, like try this one here and if that seems good venture this way or that way if you didn't like it. Honestly, whatever really.

Other than that I've got some experience with cigars, used a few pipes to the extent that I know what I'm getting into. I'm experienced with wine and a bit of scotches. I also smoked cigarettes and dipped off and on for over 20 years.