PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

kcvet67

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 6, 2010
The society we live in has become jaded, we have forgotten the reasons that this country came to be. The Declaration of Independence concludes with the phrase:
"And for the support of this Declaration, with a firm reliance on the protection of Divine Providence, we mutually pledge to each other our Lives, our Fortunes, and our sacred Honor."
I am posting this early so that those of you who want to whine to the moderators to have this closed will have ample time to do so.
As a Viet Nam veteran, I learned the meaning of these words. I had the misfortune to be involved in a war that tore this country apart. The friends I had who were killed in Viet Nam are just as dead as those who died in earlier wars, they just died in the wrong place. I came home in August of 1970, I have been in varying degrees of pain for every day of the 44 years since.
Today, we are lucky enough to have a generation of young men and women who are still courageous enough to make the sacrifices that keep this country free. God grant that we always will.

2smoke

Lurker
Feb 12, 2014
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Well said. When I am at an event and the Star-Spangled Banner is played I get a lump in my throat as I look at the flag and listen to the words. The 4th of July holiday is more that a day off

Of work and fireworks. It is a day where we as Americans should celebrate our freedoms that have been fought for and a day that we should remember the brave men and women

That have done the fighting and paid the ultimate price to ensure that we will continue to have those freedoms. In my opinion, the 4th of July and Memorial Day go hand in hand. You can't

Have one without the other.

carlweis

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jun 7, 2014