PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

RedZeppelin

Might Stick Around
Mar 19, 2020
To me, smoking a pipe is all about contemplating the experience. So, as a noob, I feel like I need to smoke a bit of each major type of tobacco type by itself. VA, burley, Latakia, perique, etc. My thinking is it may help me understand the flavors, and maybe some nuances of a blend. When I smoke now, it's a matter of like or no like. Not why.I realize in each type, there will be major differences in flavor and taste, even batch to batch, year to year.

This leads to a barrage of questions: Anyone else do this? What was your experience? Is such a thing available? Is it even worthwhile?

BROBS

Lifer
Nov 13, 2019
IA
To me, smoking a pipe is all about contemplating the experience. So, as a noob, I feel like I need to smoke a bit of each major type of tobacco type by itself. VA, burley, Latakia, perique, etc. My thinking is it may help me understand the flavors, and maybe some nuances of a blend. When I smoke now, it's a matter of like or no like. Not why.I realize in each type, there will be major differences in flavor and taste, even batch to batch, year to year.

This leads to a barrage of questions: Anyone else do this? What was your experience? Is such a thing available? Is it even worthwhile?
I think it would be very worthwhile but I’m not patient enough. I’d rather shotgun blast numerous blends into my cellar without discretion.

olkofri

Lifer
Sep 9, 2017
The Arm of Orion
That's also what I once tried to do. Didn't entirely succeed as there are some ingredients that I'd rather not smoke by themselves (yes, I've heard some daredevils have smoked straight perique). Virginia is one of the few I think is offered as a 100% component of a blend, and it's my understanding that Lane's BCA is 100% black cavendish. Beyond those, no, I haven't smoked individual tobaccos.

BROBS

Lifer
Nov 13, 2019
IA