PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Aug 14, 2012
Bradley: Great to hear from you. I had the whole bathroom tiled that way. Going down close to zero the next few nights. We have oil heat but are burning a lot of wood too. Hope you are having a good winter.Just saw a great film "The Straight Story" from 1999. True story about a WWII veteran who went several hundred miles on a riding lawnmower to visit his sick brother. You are bound to enjoy it. Richard Farnsworth, Harry Dean Stanton, Sissy Spacek.

agnosticpipe

Lifer
Nov 3, 2013
In the sticks in Mississippi
Foggy, nothing like having your own "pipe babe" to keep you company! Congrats! My wife and I have been smoking pipes on and off since the early 1980's. She gets kinda of possessive about some of her pipes, which is fine, but mostly we pretty much share all that we have.

We saw the "Straight Story" not long after it came out. Really a great film, starring the old "Grey Fox" himself, Richard Farnsworth. I think it was his last film as he died shortly thereafter. But it did inspire me to buy a John Deere lawnmower! :D

oldredbeard

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 20, 2012
Very lucky indeed, fantastic Foggy. I also love the tile work, and that fire looks so cozy.

plateauguy

Lifer
Mar 19, 2013
Just saw an article about how pipe smokers are calmer than other people. A pipe by the fireplace - heaven!
My wife is still flirting with the idea, she now has 3 pipes (unsmoked). She's more of a collector than a doer.

sparrowhawk

Lifer
Jul 24, 2013
It's great to have a wife who appreciates your hobby enough to indulge herself! And what a great picture--it's 2 degrees where I live in Michigan, and the photo reminds me of what warmth is.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
That's a winsome look. Here's another pipe idea for her. I recently ordered a Group 2 churchwarden from

Iwan Ries, an EWA pipe in green stain. When it came, I lit it up and it smoked well. I kept trying to read