PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

buck67

Can't Leave
Aug 4, 2010
Little Rock
I've noticed that when some people smoke a pipe, they inhale. Now I'm a newbie and have been told many times "Never Inhale Pipe Smoke"!! I know the dangers and never intend to inhale. Does the tobacco taste better if inhaled?? Am I a whimp if I don't inhale?? Will I always be a "beginner" pipe smoker if I don't fill my lungs with pipe smoke?? Would like some feedback please.....

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
Hi Roger, let me extend a friendly welcome to the forums!
I inhale a bit of pipe smoke now and then for the nicotine buzz, which is probably augmented by incidental oxygen deprivation. It's my understanding that nicotine is also adsorbed by the soft tissues of the mouth, palate and sinuses, and eventually finds its way to the CNS by that route. However, when I do inhale, I don't get the full flavor of the tobacco blend -- which is the very best part of pipe smoking.
We need some "compare and contrast" type input from pipesters with cigarette and RYO experience to fully answer your question.

My guess would be that pipe tobacco blends are far too heady or harsh to inhale like a cigarette. The same probably goes for cigars.

python

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 8, 2009
Maryland
pipesmagazine.com
Cortezattic Said: My guess would be that pipe tobacco blends are far too heady or harsh to inhale like a cigarette. The same probably goes for cigars.

IMO, You are pretty much spot on Cortez. I smoke MYO/RYO, pipes, and cigars. I do not inhale my pipes and cigars, but every once and again it happens accidentally. It tears me up when it does. To me, they are not smooth like cigarettes are. Like you, I also lose that full flavor of the pipe or cigar smoke when I inhale it. It tastes, to me, much better when I don't.