What Type Of Polishing/Buffing Wheels To Get?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

New Cigars

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

sjpipesmoker

Lifer
Apr 17, 2011
I'm not a pro, just a pipe smoker with a 8" harbor freight bench grinder/buffer. I have some pads on there and I bought some rouge, but what I have it's not doing the job. Either the stuff I have is wrong or I'm doing something wrong. I want to start over again buying new buffing wheels and rouge and tossing what I have.

I know I need white diamond rouge and carnauba wax. Is there any other rouge I need or any other polishing compounds? What polishing wheels do I need? When I look they have flannel ones, cotton, sisal???!!! I'm just going to use it for personal use, on my own pipes. Any help would be appreciated.

samcoffeeman

Can't Leave
Apr 6, 2015
I have that buffer too. I go at full speed with white diamond, but the carnauba needs a slower speed. Harbor freight sells something called a Router Speed Control that will slow the wheels down. I use a softer pad for the wax and a harder pad for the white diamond, only cotton though. I haven't tried them yet but I hear good things about Beall buffing pads.

clickklick

Lifer
May 5, 2014
I use the beall buffing kit on a 1725RPM motor. The kit comes with 3 buffs, red tripoli, white diamond, and carnuba.
You can buy the items individually if needed.

As a jeweler who grew up around polishing rouges, reading about so many "playing" with it is terrifying. You do know that it is a fiberglass, and if you do not protect your face with a respirator, it will never come out of your lungs, right?