PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

markus

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 18, 2014
Bloomfield, IN
Since I am fairly new at pipe smoking, I am interested in the many forms of smoking cadence that you all use. I can usually find that sweet spot in my cadence, where I think I'm getting the most flavor from my tobacco, but my mind eventually drifts and I lose my concentration, or I am really into the flavor of whatever I am smoking and start drawing to hard, to fast, or both. I'm sure that most of you have been doing this long enough that you don't even have to think about your cadence, regrettably that's not the case for me... yet. So, what are your secrets concerning the mysteries of smoking cadence?

skraps

Sep 9, 2015
For me it really depends on what I'm smoking. If it's one of my go-to regular smokes, I don't pay much attention to it. It's almost robotic. I'm like an old codger in that sense. I will stop and talk, put my pipe down to do something and let it go out often. I can make an average bowl last 2 hours sometimes.
On the other hand, if it's something new, or a special treat tobacco, I am very cognizant of my cadence. I make a concerted effort to keep it moderated to get the most out of the blend. YMMV

markus

Mar 18, 2014
Bloomfield, IN