What Aromatics are good for a new pipe smoker?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

skylonrow

Might Stick Around
Feb 23, 2011
Great Britain
I'm very new to pipe smoking and i have a bit of a background with cigarettes. I generally hate the taste and smell of them.
I recently tried an aromatic called "Holland House" although the people on tobaccoreviews.com said it was good, i found it stunk of cigarettes and had no flavour at all.
I'm looking for a blend that you can readily get in the UK (i don't have a tobacconist near where i live) has a nice room note, and has a good flavour and doesn't just taste of cigarettes.
The nice room note is fairly important, i want to be able to smell nice when i smoke my pipe instead of me and my house stinking of fags.

The flavour is very important and i'm looking for a sweet fruity sort of flavour.
But any aromatic tobacco that has a nice room note and a good flavour for a new pipe smoker would be well appreciated.
I have been suggested Macbarren Vanilla Cream and Mclintok Black Cherry.

expatpipe

Can't Leave
Dec 31, 2010
dsc00963-600x450.jpg

W.O. Larsen 2011

fills all your criteria and then some.

shillelagh3

Lurker
Feb 19, 2011
Georgia
I really like Peterson Connoisseur's Choice. It tastes good and smells wonderful. Tom me, the room note is something like a NutriGrain bar (I don't know if they market those in the UK.) or maybe a little like Christmas pudding (I know you guys still have those over there...well, maybe not right at the moment, since it's February.) Anyway, from my experience with it (c. 5 years), I highly recommend it.

skylonrow

Might Stick Around
Feb 23, 2011
Great Britain
Thank you.
I now don't seem so lost, as i felt before. I think i shall try The Macbaren Vanilla, Petersons Connoisseur's Choice and i'll try the 7 sea if i can get hold of it.

julesholling

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 19, 2011
Sutton, Surrey