PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

markw4mms

Lifer
Jun 16, 2011
Bremen,GA
Mason jars should be air tight if the lids are in good shape, so it shouldn't dry out. Some people will run their jars through the dishwasher before using and put the tobacco in while the jars are still hot from the drying cycle, as they cool, they will develop a vacuum seal in the jar.

jaysin

Lifer
Feb 8, 2012
Indiana
Thanks i am new to the storing and tobacco in bulk i have some i stored up about a week ago and it seamed like it may have a dried out a bit. could be just me and paranoia this is the most ive had on hand at once and have alot of cash in it lol

captainbob

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 5, 2010
Just use a clean jar at room temperature and screw the lid on tight. Don't worry about it. For tobacco to age it must have some air. I just fill my jars to the top and press most of the air out of them with my knuckes as the jar becomes full. Then I screw the lid on tight and everything is just fine for as long as you desire! In my opinion, it is not necesaary to do anything more than I have decribed here and I have had many years of experience with the "simple-method" as I have described. I have never had undesirable results. The enemy of tobacco is air. It is the "frequent-opening" of any airtight conainer that presents a problem over time if the airtight container is not full of tobacco. That is why I transfer from the large mason jar to a smaller mason jar for daily use. If you follow this procedure, you will not have any problem with tobacco becoming to dry.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

recoilrob

Starting to Get Obsessed
Apr 16, 2011
P ack it in and then use one of the attachments for my Foodsaver to vacuum seal the jar.

firstwordisee

Starting to Get Obsessed
Feb 10, 2012