PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

treeder13

Might Stick Around
Apr 16, 2012
Hmmm I'm new to pipe smoking and would like some help picking where to start, I love my cigars but when you consider it's 10 bucks a smoke for a cigar or 10 for some good pipe tobacco and with as often as I smoke it seems logical. Here are the two I've narrowed it down to http://pipesandcigars.com/itchsp.html and http://pipesandcigars.com/pigisetpatit.html Any suggestions? :)

buzkirk

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 14, 2009
Humboldt Tn.
You will get more milage out of the smaller (silver band) pipe than you will with the churchwarden.
You can always buy a CW later, but the regular pipe will fit in more as you are learning.

bigvan

Lifer
Mar 22, 2011
Churchwardens are not the most convenient pipes to carry, clean, hold, etc. If I had to choose between these two I'd pick the sand blasted one with the silver band.

treeder13

Might Stick Around
Apr 16, 2012
The only time i smoke is when i can relax at usually while sitting would that matter in choosing?

gwynclan

Can't Leave
Jan 18, 2012
The thing about starting with a churchwarden is that it is a little more on the maintenance, special size pipe cleaners and portability. That said I love my sav. Churchwarden but bought it after 9 (regular pipes). Ever think about a cobb not to deter you from your first 2 great choices.

cheers

steyrshrek

Starting to Get Obsessed
Apr 1, 2012
The churchwarden is like a wall clock and the Trevi is like a wrist watch, they both tell time, its simply a matter of utility. If you are only going to sit at home the churchwarden will do fine, the Trevi will work at home, if you want to go for a walk in the woods, if you travel. I personally think there is far more utility in the Trevi for a first pipe than the churchwarden.

treeder13

Might Stick Around
Apr 16, 2012