PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

sparrowhawk

Lifer
Jul 24, 2013
Greetings, All,

I'm new to regular pipe smoking--I've tried pipe smoking in the past, but it's only recently where the "bug" has really hit. Just have a few pipes right now--a La Rocca Piccalo pocket pipe, a couple of the Peterson's "Dracula" series, and a Brebbia (the last being an awful pipe because of the Dublin bowl interior). However, a pipe is only as good as the tobacco you smoke. For awhile I used Captain Black Gold, then tried CAO's Bella Vanilla, which I liked a lot, but this type only comes in expensive 1.76 ounce tins, whereas the Black comes in 12 ounce cans. I'm expecting a delivery of another Vanilla-flavored tobacco (the exotic name escapes me for the moment) this Monday. But for general, "go to" smoking, what would a good, economic tobacco be? I like something mild and sweet. I tried Middleton's once and threw the little box out after a few puffs. Any suggestions for something that fits the bill that is easily available at smoke stores? Thanks for reading.

dread

Lifer
Jun 19, 2013
Peter Stokkebye Nougat is a good price in bulk. Nothing wrong with Capt. black either, though.

judcole

Lifer
Sep 14, 2011
Detroit
There is no tobacco that is worth smoking that is easily available & "economic", IMO. If all you can afford is Captain Black, smoke in peace, sparrowhawk. But if you are going to pop for Peterson pipes, you might as well buy some decent pipe tobacco, and start shopping online. YMMV.

cavendish36

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jun 26, 2013