PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mranglophile

Can't Leave
May 11, 2015
United States
Hey all,

I have been smoking for a few years and colecting mainly British eststae pipes. I started with Ben wade's cause I liked there style and were cheap but soon moved up to Charatans, Comoy's and such..usually spending under 100. I have about 40 pipes, 25ish I did well on and about 12 being ebay "lessons".
Now I have always wanted a Dunhill and had been looking for quite a while when Smokers Haven listed the pipe in my avatar. A 1971 36 (liverpool) in Bruyere(4) unsmoked with the box, all the goods and paperwork, metal tube and filters and the original receipt from the Duke St store and most importantlly my birth year!!. Loving all things vintage as you all say I pulled the trigger and a few hundred dollars later I was the winner(still less than half of one on the main retailers for a newer one...thats my rationalization)
So it finally showed up and I was fully planning on smoking it but I had yet to inform my wife, let alone show it to her. She thought it was wicked cool(it is) but convinced me I had to become a caretaker of it for prosperity and never smoke it.
So what I would like from you all is either your reason I should smoke it or why I should keep it pristine. I'm hoping Iget some good advice to smoke it so I can convince the misses(she not really stopping me because she is an awesome wife she is just "urging" me :))
Thanks- Mr. Anglophile(Michael)

dulgunz

Can't Leave
Feb 11, 2015
I would smoke it just like the rest of my pipes. It is just a pipe, and it was made for that purpose. Just my 2 cents.

pitchfork

Lifer
May 25, 2012
Gorgeous pipe.
The obvious solution is to buy another Dunhill and use that to satisfy your curiosity about how a Dunhill smokes.

peteguy

Lifer
Jan 19, 2012