PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bulletsnbriars

Can't Leave
Nov 9, 2013
Nashville/Williston
Hello everyone,
I'd like to take a moment to say hello and thanks. Without even posting my questions, you have all answered them thanks to a search bar and a healthy bit of lurking. This place is an amazing resource! I dont know where I'd be without ya'll and I look forward to being a more active part of the community. I'm a young piper, received my first pipe as my 18th birthday present back in December, a Peterson Rhodesian which I dedicated to Latakia blends. I work in the Bakken oil field but reside near the lovely Nashville Tennessee. I look forward to getting to meet you all.
Now, on to my question. The first blend I ever tried was Karl Erik no. 20, which is a lat bomb. I was intrigued by the idea of lat and decided to dive in head on. I was not dissappointed. I started acquiring other lat blends, Boswell's Northwoods and Countryside, Frog Morton In the Cellar, McClelland Vintage Syrian, all sorts. Most of them I loved, and I could taste subtle differences between them. I also smoked Aros out of an MM Cob. They didnt leave as big of an impression, but I enjoyed them. Those two blends were all I smoked. And then, a nasty cheap cherry OTC left me turned off to all aros, even my good ones. Shortly after that, all my English Lats starting tasting the same, and very boring. So I decided to dive head first into Burley and ordered Five Brothers. I loved it! I have a new Peterson P lip on the way along with three burley blends. It will be dedicated to them.
So my question is, is this normal for a new piper to go through stages? Have you ever just got tired of an old favorite? Did you ever return them, or were you pretty much always turned off?
Also, suggestions for Burley Blends are appreciated.
Thanks in advance,

-Travis

andrew

Lifer
Feb 13, 2013