PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Apr 26, 2012
Washington State
Being that I'm still pretty new to the hobby of pipes I have a dumb question. Since it's seems to be canning season, I found some mason jars on sale at the local store. I bought 16, 8 oz jars to use for storing my pipe tobacco. So my question is this:
Is it better to leave my un-opened tobacco in the sealed tins or to open them and then store them in the mason jars? I've heard that some tins aren't sealed air tight and others are, so I'm curious which is a better way to store my pipe tobacco. My tins are a mix of aromatics and non-aromatics.
Any suggestions or comments are appreciated. Thanks!

crk69

Part of the Furniture Now
Jun 30, 2012
If it's a blend that you smoke often, I usually leave it in the tin and smoke it up. With all of my large tobacco purchases, I usually put them into jars. If you are concerned about the tins drying out, might want to look for the airtight jars that you can find at stores like walmart. I have several tins in them, and keep like styles of tobacco together in them so they dont "marry"..

judcole

Lifer
Sep 14, 2011
Detroit
If the tin has not been opened, leave it in the tin. There is no reason to open a sealed tin of tobacco to put it in a jar if it is just going to be stored. My cellar is loaded with unopened tins.

Once the tin has been opened to smoke, of course, it's a different story. If it's going to be lasting you a while, then you could jar it.
As for aros, everything I have ever read says they do not improve with age, so smoke 'em any time. I barely smoke the things, so have no direct experience.

topd

Lifer
Mar 23, 2012
Emerson, Arkansas
I'm with Jud. I have 'non-aero' tobaccos that have been in the tin for over 20 years, and have never

opened one to find it bad or dried out. I have read all my smoking carrier that good tobaccos improve