PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

marcel

Might Stick Around
Feb 25, 2015
In 2004 or there about, I started smoking a pipe in a failed effort to quit cigarettes. In 2006 I kicked cigarettes and therefore was afraid of any tobacco lest the addiction return. I was inspired to unboxed them, by a recently purchased box set of the films of Jaques Tati. One of the trademarks of Tatis’ character, Mr. Hoult is a pipe.
There is a big difference smoking pipes without an addiction to cigarettes, it’s enjoyable in itself instead of being a substitute for nicotine delivery. I have nothing but contempt for “Big Cigarette,” greed spoils everything. I do have some fond memories of cigarette smoking though. I was an art student in the Seventies at MACD and of course we’d never dane to smoke anything domestic. We smoked all the foreign cigarettes we could find; English Ovals, Gauloises, and especially Soubiran ‎Balkans. Those came in little tins with the same artwork as the pipe tobacco tins, unfiltered, very strong but wonderful, I can understand why it’s coveted by pipe smokers.
I’m now in the process of matching pipes with tobaccos. I bought a few 9mm filter pipes just to try them but after listening to Brian Levine’s interview with Trevor Talbert I see the reason for their existence. A 9mm filter tones down the flavors of those big juicy aromatics. Similar to adding a little water to Scotch or Bourbon, making the flavors more accessible. I recently read a review of Peterson’s Connoisseur's Choice in which the reviewer gave the tobacco 2 stars because it was messed up with too many flavors.
I thought I could keep may taste profile to just Aromatics and Virginias because a Latakia blend smelled like something one would burn to keep away mosquitoes. I tried Hearth and Home’s House of Lords in small amounts and kept with it; it’s a taste that develops over time. I can see a I have a lot of Latakia blends to explore.