PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

waznyf

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 24, 2012
Texas
My fellow pipe smokers,
I am brand new to the nostalgic hobby of pipes and one thing I have learned quickly is that there is much more to pipe smoking than packing and lighting. It requires a good amount of talent and experience to bring on the full enjoyment of a smoke.

Besides how often or hard to puff, what to use to light it, packing, etc I wanted to know how you all enjoy the taste of your tobacco more.

I read an article on the pipe magazine website saying to move it around in your mouth to let your palate get the most out of it.

Unfortunately I for one am having a hard time doing that so I wanted to see what others did and if they had any recommendations. So far I have only held it in my mouth or exhaled slowly.

Thanks for your input everyone!

stogie37

Mar 24, 2012
Southport, North Carolina
One of the key components to my tobacco taste enjoyment has to do with what I am drinking while I am smoking. My personal preference is, and has been for a very long time, tea. Usually hot, sometimes iced, and often with just a bit of sugar. Evidently, the pH of my mouth along with the pH of many tobaccos I smoke works very well with the complimentary & cleansing attributes of most black teas. Having a sip of tea every few puffs really increases my ability to taste the blend and even to separate out the component tobaccos.
I've heard other pipe & cigar smokers share similar thoughts about wine, beer, water, soda water and even diet coke! None of these seem to increase my enjoyment at near the level tea does.
After the above, I also notice that what I have eaten prior to smoking can really have an effect on which taste spectrum seems to dominate. (Sweet, bittier, tangy, rich, leathery etc.)