PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oct 7, 2013
Hello every one I'm new to the forum and to pipe smoking in fact today was the first day i smoked my new pipe that I got from pipes and cigars .com and the smoke was not pleasant. I was smoking home and hearths stockade and I couldn't even finish the bowl because all I could taste was plastic and ash not to mention the five lights to get it going. So I don't know if I didn't pack it right or if its the pipe. I was also using kitchen matches to light I don't know if that would affect anything, but any help and advise would be much appreciated as I still want to give this a chance. Thanks, Kevin

kris

Can't Leave
Sep 16, 2012
Welcome!
You are smoking a new pipe. Pipes take a number of smokes to "break in". Just be patient & keep puffing.

namuna

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 22, 2013
Sheeee-it, I'm brand new to piping as well... I'm still in the under 50 smokes category!
Only just recently has the tobacco started to NOT all taste like smoking burnt nuts!
Truth be told, I couldn't tell you if it's because I'm getting better at lighting the tobacco, or if I'm learning to get used to that burnt nut and am starting to distinguish the other flavors, or maybe the pipes I'm using (up to 4 now, and growing) are breaking in and providing better taste.
Patience and keeping at it, that's what it takes

papipeguy

Lifer
Jul 31, 2010
Bethlehem, Pa.
As roth and kris point out, this hobby takes practice and patience. I've been smoking pipes for 43+ yeras and still find new things to learn. The first year is a huge learning curve. I had no one to teach me the finer points. This site is a Godsend to many so stick with it and continue to read the posts here.

There's nothing we codgers love more than passing knowledge, experience (good and bad) along to the new pipers.

Hang in there and practice, practice, practice.

taerin

Lifer
May 22, 2012