PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

lankfordjl

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 29, 2011
Texas
So I'm a newbie to pipe smoking; I opened my first tin of tobacco last week. I've placed the tobacco in a jar to store it; the jar has a seal. The tobacco that I was intending to smoke for a couple of days I put in a pouch. I've noticed that the tobacco in the pouch dehydrates fast. What are your suggestions on storing tobacco in pouches and jars? Do I need to hydrate the tobacco in the jar? What is the best method?

martini

Lurker
Sep 28, 2011
Tobacco kept in a jar (I suggest a mason jar with a good seal) does not need to have any moisture added to it. Doing so will affect the aging process and can cause problems such as mold. It will stay moist in the jar on its own for many years.
You can keep tobacco in a ziplock and expect it to stay at an acceptable moisture level for weeks. I'm assuming the pouch you were using doesn't have the airtight qualities a ziplock would (or you live in a very dry climate and need to stick to jars).
I suggest this method for rehydrating dry tobacco:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QlJyKXSTxIM

haroldt

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 4, 2013
Melbourne, Fl
Here's a great and simple way to rehydrate your baccy. This guys has a long series of videos on you tube that helped me a lot. Loads of info.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wz5sfyvIOu0&list=PLF038D14740357930

verse

Lurker
Mar 6, 2014
Quick question...I have some opened tins (seal has been broken) and am wondering if I should transfer them to properly sealed containers (I use glass), as they may sit for several months?
Thanks!

northernneil

Lifer
Jun 1, 2013
If the seal on the tin is gone, and the tobacco will not be smoked within 1 - 2 weeks, then yes, move the baccy into some mason jars with the lids sealed tight for storage.

unadoptedlamp

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 19, 2014