PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

05venturer

Lifer
Nov 25, 2012
Amery,WI
Okay Pro's, I have found myself smoking my Estate Medico Cavalier lately and I find I really like the feel if the bit in my teeth. I am a clencher and this bit shows virtually no signs of wear or teeth marks. Can anyone tell me what this material is. I am guessing acrylic but I am pretty new to the world of pipes other than my trusty MM Cobs. I wouls like to get this type of stem/bit for a few of my cobs so I quit chewing through them.

2013-05-04221912_zpsfc6138a8.jpg

pstlpkr

Lifer
Dec 14, 2009
Birmingham, AL
Looks to me like a good quality of ebonite.

Acrylic will click on your teeth and generally come in a variety of colors.

However; I don't recall ever seeing a black Acrylic... That isn't to say that it's not out there.

There are varying qualities of vulcanite or ebonite... Some are softer than others.

Just looks like good stuff to me.
Just my 2 cents.

:puffy:

chubbster

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 12, 2013
I believe castello uses acrylic, and they are black.
Acrylic is fairly hard, resists tooth marks and oxidation.
Ebonite is softer, scratches fairly easy, and can oxidize over time, given the quality.

allan

Lifer
Dec 5, 2012
Bronx, NY
I just can't stand acrylic. Feels like I'm biting on glass.
I don't like to see tooth marks, but i'd rather that.
No one asked, but my 2 cents

kashmir

Lifer
May 17, 2011
Northern New Jersey
Well, everyone has a different take on stem material. After years of maintaining vulcanite, I've slowly begun to convert my pipes to acrylic. I use thin surgical rubber bit protectors, so the hardness of Lucite is a non issue for me. I just like how acrylics stand up to time. By the way, they come in every color imaginable, including black. Mike Meyers can mimic the vulcanite stems of Dunhill and Comoy, etc., in Lucite complete with stem logos.

ejames

Lifer
Oct 6, 2009