PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

checotah

Part of the Furniture Now
Feb 7, 2012
I have for some time read all the good reviews of C&D Star of the East, and kept promising myself some. Last weekend, I found a tin in a B&M pipe shop, and brought it home with great expectations. Was really disappointed. Not sure why; I've been smoking English/Balkan blends for nearly 20 years, but it just didn't do anything for me. Finished a third bowl last night, and it still just doesn't fit me. FWIW, Maltese Falcon has recently become one of my top blends, along with Westminster, Quiet Nights, Nightcap, MM965, Froggy's blends, Blackhouse, etc. I really like latakia, even sometimes straight.
I'm not knocking SOE, just commenting that something about it doesn't fit me. At 70, my taste buds are not as refined as many of yours are, so I can't really qualify my experience.
Any suggestions?

texmexpipe

Oct 20, 2014
I thought 10-Midnight similar to Star of the East but better. The Orientals are there but less "dirty" if that makes sense. Maybe less sour would be a better description. Balkan blends have been very love it or hate it for me, while English blends tend to be a little more nuanced and come down to what I like better rather than what I won't smoke again. Hope that makes sense!

ltstone

Dec 30, 2015
Im curious have you had Lancer Slices or Penzance? I kinda lump SOTE with those as the Virginias pair well with the latakia to give an incense(y) feel to them. Where as I lump Nightcap, Engine99, English Oriental etc with the Burley, perique in the more dark and spicy catagory. Maybe you prefer the latter camp..

Mar 1, 2014
I have 5 out of the 6 other blends that you mention and I like Star of the East more than all of them. I'm betting this is either a case of sample variation or just differences in taste.