PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Skapie

Might Stick Around
Sep 5, 2017
NSW, Australia
I joined this forum after finding the website during an online search. At that stage I’ve been smoking pipes for a good few years, but purely as a hobby, and sometimes going months without smoking. Pretty much self-taught with lots of tongue bite and frequent relights.
Picked up the hobby again with the acquisition of my grail pipe, and started reading here.
Information overload! I was keen to try EVERYTHING I learned. From non-aromatics to new packing techniques, to breath-smoking to goodness knows what else.
It was probably the worst time in my pipe-smoking experience, since starting out. To the point where I nearly ditched the whole thing.
I recently picked it up again, and reverted to my own self-taught habits. I don’t pack by prescribed method, I fill the bowl with tobacco and test the draw. I light it once or twice for the start before tamping down and settling down. I prefer aro to plain. Specifically a black cherry blend from my local B&M. The chap behind the counter isn’t the store owner and doesn’t know what’s in it or where they get it from. I like the mouth feel and the smell.
I ditched all my newly acquired tins of Peterson terribles.
And I think that’s where the beauty of pipe smoking came back to me. We do it for the relaxation and process. Taking our minds of the world’s troubles.
And then only did I understand the single piece of advice, often quoted here, of “don’t overthink it”. Find what works for you, read less, smoke more :)

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
Glad to hear that you've found that sweet-spot in the pastime indulgence. :puffy:
btw, nicely written post -- hope to read more of your observations.

sumusfumus

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 20, 2017
New York City
skaaphaas: