PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

vwg8

Lurker
Mar 19, 2012
I've been thinking of buying a smooth classic shape meerschaum because I like the feel of a smooth pipe but I'm having second thoughts. None of my smooth briar's (I have several) get to hot to handle comfortably but I have a few meerschaum lattice carved pipes and a few pipes with faces on them, I'm a "slow smoker" but have noticed on the meerschaums with faces (on the parts of the pipes that have a smooth area) that they seem to get uncomfortably hot to the touch and I'm worried about buying a smooth pipe that gets to hot to handle comfortably. Are meerschaums inherently "hotter" than briars?

Thanks ahead of time for your thoughts.

uberam3rica

Lifer
Sep 7, 2011
Capac, Michigan
Most consider meers to be the coolest smoke. I'm not an expert on meerschuam, but it could be that its is poor block quality or that it is pressed meerschaum. I haven't seen your pipes, but if the walls are thin in the smooth areas, that could be why they get hot. I dont think being smooth or not really makes a difference

tokerpipes

Lifer
Jan 16, 2012
Eatonville, WA
Same here. I do smoke it a little quickly once in a while when I am applying the Bees Wax to draw out the color, then when its cooled I will buff it up to a nice shine. I do this maybe once a month.

markw4mms

Lifer
Jun 16, 2011
Bremen,GA
They can get hot if you smoke too fast, or the bowl walls are thin. The best practice is to just handle it by the stem while smoking to keep your fingers from leaving prints in the wax causing blotches as it colors.

hobie1dog

Lifer
Jun 5, 2010
Cornelius, NC
And to the original poster...when you use the word "to" Websters defines it as:
in addition; also; furthermore; moreover: young, clever, and rich too. 2. to an excessive extent or degree; beyond what is desirable, fitting, or right: too sick to .
so you would want to have 2 of the letter "o" in it.
FYI :wink:

Reactions: drayve85

fred