PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrsilentp

Lurker
Oct 24, 2013
A mary land
Hello Fellow Pipe Forum Participants,
I am new to the pipe game but have begun to develop a taste profile of tobaccos I like. I am a big fan of McClelland Red Cake. I prefer it to most of the other Virginias that I have tried.
Being a newbie I am not sure what type of Virginia Red Cake is. I also do not know of other tobaccos I should try based on my like of this blend.
I need your help. I appreciate any information and guidance you sages of briar and smoke can provide.

jgriff

Can't Leave
Feb 20, 2013
One part is easy to answer, it's a straight red virginia and it's a very common virginia in a number of blends. Red's are particularly high in sugars and thus, sweet tasting.
The main issue you'll find though is that McClelland virginias are pretty distinctive. They tend to taste lighter and sweeter (and lower in nicotine) than alot of other virginias out there.
My first suggestion would be to stay in-house and try some of the tinned offerings from McClelland. Their Matured Virginias #22, #27, and Christmas Cheer would be similar. The second suggestion is to by more Red Cake and put in a mason jar. In 6 months or more, you'll find it's a different smoke.

mrsilentp

Lurker
Oct 24, 2013
A mary land
Thank you JGriff,
That was the kind of information I was looking for. I do like the Virginia blends I have had from McClelland compared to other Virginias that I tries (Golden Slice, SG Full Virginia Flake).
I will check them out.

judcole

Lifer
Sep 14, 2011
Detroit
Try McCranie's Red Ribbon or Red Flake, available only from them. You might also enjoy Benjamin Hartwell Signature, which is more widely available. Both excellent blends.

johnparker

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 22, 2013