PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

wasatch

Lurker
Aug 23, 2014
I appreciate those who take the time to help educate me. While I am new to pipes and pipe tobacco, I have been smoking cigars for 5-6 years.
I just purchased this pipe--through Viking Club:

IMG_1154.jpg

I had planned on going the recommended route, of smoking and getting the hang using a cobb--I have several, but I somehow stumbled upon the gent's site, read his "about me," and liked what I read. Then my tobacco impulse kicked in and the next thing you know, I am a customer--no regrets.
My questions are:
Could you gents recommend several tobaccos that might be up my alley? I like full, rich tobacco. Medium full, to full. I am thinking I won't enjoy aromatics as much as other types of pipe tobacco.
secondly, what is customary in terms of a pipe and smoking different tobacco types? Is it best to reserve one pipe to one type, or does it really matter?
The other question I have concerns rotating pipes. What is customary in terms of giving a pipe rest in between smokes? 24 hours?
I realize, as is the case in the cigar world, that these are somewhat vague questions and there's probably additional criteria that are needed. However, any guidance would be greatly appreciated.
thanks!

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
Hello wasatch, and welcome to the forums. :clap:

Since you're coming from the cigar world, some familiar territory will include pipe blends with touches of cigar leaf in them:

• G. L. Pease Key Largo and Robusto

Cornell & Diehl Purple Cow

Hearth & Home Stogie and Virginia Spice

Robert Lewis 123 Mixture

James J. Fox Banker's

McClelland Dominican Glory Maduro