PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

oldmooner

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 22, 2011
Sherman, Texas
As I look at the discussions/articles on our site, I wonder if we are not becoming more and more guilty of arrogance and taking our hobby (never have liked calling my pipe-smoking a hobby)too seriosly. I am now an old man and, of course, adverse to change, but I have been smoking a pipe for over 50 years and I do not ever remember (yes, I can still remember) pipe smokers being as "up tight" as they seem today. Like so many "hobbies" we have developed a group of "experts" that we bow to (God forbid I should critisize anything Danish) and developed a form of "excellence" that we are all supposed to attempt to achieve whether it be purchasing a pipe, tobacco, or even a tamper. That is a shame. Hobbies are supposed to be enjoyable. And before you jump on me for being an old fud, I notice the same thing in other hobbies and in society today in general. We can't just go bowling. We have to have our own ball, shoes, sports bag, etc. Same with golf. The group I belong to concerning scrollsawing is the same way. Ague endlessly about the "best" saw, blades, wood, etc and seem to forget that the object is fun and enjoyment of life. Oh well, just let me say to you younger troops-smoke the pipe you like, the tobacco that tastes good and laugh at yourselves once in awhile. I hate to see us, like wine drinkers, smelling the cork. I always enjoyed "twist-top" myself. You do not have to have a pipe that costs $200 and looks like some form of sculpture and you do not need to analyze the content/mixture of your tobacco. You too can learn to spell latakia and perique even if you prefer burley. Lighten up, troops!

lordnoble

Lifer
Jul 13, 2010
Just for the record, I prefer screw-tiop wine bottle too, but I prefer Boxed wines more. The easier it is for me to pour when I'm tipsy the better!