PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

buck

Lurker
Apr 8, 2012
Hello all,

I am very new when it comes to smoking pipes though I have been smoking cigars every so often for about 2 years. I bought my first pipe yesterday and I absolutely LOVE the aroma, flavor and atmosphere of smoking a pipe. The only problem that I have is that I smoke way to hot, burning my tongue. The pipe never gets to hot to hold. Right now I have a simple and cheap egg shaped corncob.
Ok so onto my question. I was looking at a churchwarden style pipe because they are said to smoke cool and, for fast puffers like me, are said to not burn the tongue. Only problem I see with churchwardens is there are very few reviews on them and the reviews that I have read are mixed. Are there any recommended churchwardens out there? especially in 100$ and under range and preferably somewhat artistic in that I could keep them on a tabletop as an artistic piece as well. Do churchwardens smoke as well as the more prevalent styles?
Also are there other style pipes, except for the gourd Calabash pipes, that smoke cooler than or as cool as churchwardens?
Thanks for the help
Buck

lonestar

Lifer
Mar 22, 2011
Edgewood Texas
Welcome to the forum Buck, and especially welcome to the world of Pipe Smoking !

Most people will agree a Calabash smokes cooler than a lot of other pipes. Meerschaums in general are usually seen as cooler smoking pipes with less tongue bite.

Most people think churchwardens smoke cooler too, I've never gotten into them so I cant say firsthand.

A lot of it has to do with an individual pipe, and your own smoking style. There are certain blends that seem to bite worse for me in certain pipes, and smoke smoother in others.

It really comes down to finding what you like.

If a Churchwarden appeals to you, and makes you want to pick it up and smoke it, you will naturally enjoy the smoke better from that pipe.