PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jorgesoler

Can't Leave
Dec 3, 2014
So what is your take on rubber tips? Is this the new hype or something that should be done for practical reasons. Tell me what you think.
zofp3l.jpg

ivapewithfire

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 26, 2014
West Virginia, USA
I'm new to pipe smoking and only have two pipes, a MM cobb and a Dr. Grabow (I know big spender).
I don't know how practical it is, but I tried one and it made it much easier for me to hold the pipes in my mouth comfortably.

pipebaum81

Part of the Furniture Now
Nov 23, 2014
LOVE LOVE LOVE them. It was one of the first bits of advice I recieved. Saves on the tooth marks and is so comfortable.

jorgesoler

Can't Leave
Dec 3, 2014
And they promote/stimulate salivation, which is a very good thing when smoking a pipe.

phil67

Lifer
Dec 14, 2013
I use softy bits but I always cut off the lip on them as otherwise they feel too thick and unnatural.

Cutting off that little section makes a big difference in the way they feel.

tppytel

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 23, 2014
I prefer heat-shrink tubing - it's thinner than those latex bits, but still enough to provide some cushion.

brewshooter

Lifer
Jun 2, 2011
I like them, as I also like to clench and prefer a bit of heft to my stem. I do push them down past the button to make them more comfortable. They appear to be designed to fit over and protect the button, but, if I had to use them that way, I'd take them off!

bigjohn

Lurker
Aug 17, 2014
Makes clenching so much easier and more comfortable. I have them on all of my pipes and a bag of spares too!

Mar 30, 2014
wv
I use them for all my clenchers. If you trim the thick end off of the softy bit, they still work just same and are nearly the same thickness of the stem.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Don't like them on most pipes. Good for MM cobs with the standard plastic stems to keep them from getting chewed up.