PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

beastinview

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 5, 2016
I just smoked Royal Yacht for the first time and I thought I'd post my impressions--not really a review since I'm a bit new to pipe smoking and don't know all the lingo.
I was attracted to this blend because of all the polarized reviews I've seen posted online. It certainly seems to inspire a love/hate reaction in most smokers.
I'll just begin by saying I really like this blend. The tin note was a bit overpowering: a fermented, plum aroma as many reviews had predicted. The plum was subtle--not like the aromatics I've smoked. It was almost more like a wine / port scent.
The tobacco wasn't too wet, and it smoked better than any blend I've tried so far. I actually smoked the bowl to the bottom without a single relight, which is not something I have done before, and I don't even try to do that, since I don't at all mind relighting my pipe. That seems preferable to smoking it too hot. But the RY almost seemed to burn on it's own, even occasionally glowing red in the bowl when I wasn't puffing at all. (I was smoking in the dark.) So even though I don't mind relighting, that was a pleasant surprise, especially since I was smoking outside and only using matches. It was nice not to have to fight the wind.