PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
We've been watching the Ken Burns documentary on PBS about the Roosevelts --

Theodore, Eleanor and Franklin. Tonight, Tuesday, it came through mostly, but

when the commentators came on (biographers, historians, writers, etc. who comment

on the history) the background music continued but the verbal sound was missing.

So I wonder, was it the national feed, my local PBS station, my cable service, or my TV?

Anyone else have this experience? As usual, when you'd like some actual feedback online

from the broadcaster, cable service, etc., your curiosity is met with infinite silence.

natenice1

Can't Leave
Jun 15, 2014
Tom I know exactly what you are talking about. I am an avid amateur radio operator and this was discussed at our last club meeting. A lot of the younger guys are digital broadcast engineers, hey I'm lucky I can e-mail. I going to try to explain it, all TV signals are so compressed in a digital format and are transmitted by satellite they are encoded and decoded by as many as 15 different links, so there is lag time which is noticeable! I think, I can explain and fix tube electronic equipment but that's above my realm! That may be a real rudimentary explanation the person who could explain it much better on the forums is Patrick ae1pt. Still waiting for my IRC order Thursday, I'm salivating.
Nate

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Hmmm. So what you're saying is, this could well be a problem with a satellite link. My sister in Chicago watched the show

and it came through fine throughout, so it wasn't a national problem. It struck me as odd that the background music

continued to play as the commentators spoke, but none of their speech was heard. Their mouthes moved, but only music

was heard. It's annoying that PBS and our local station made no effort to explain or account for the problem. They ran