PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

duallogic

Lurker
Jan 15, 2013
I'm new to the world of pipe smoking, recently purchased some estate pipes off eBay (several Grabows, a Falcon, and a couple of no names). What are your recommendations for restoring pipes?

mlyvers

Can't Leave
Sep 23, 2012
hello and welcome. you can search the forums here to find what you need to know in regards to refurbishing pipes. it is fun, i have done ~ 5 pipes myself. if you have any trouble finding info, let us know. someone here will give you all the info you need. also u tube has vids of this very thing. it is all good here.
take care.
mike.

ssjones

Staff member
May 11, 2011
Maryland
postimg.cc
Many pipe restorations are posted frequently on the Reborn Pipes blog. Nearly everything I've learned about restoring pipes came from that blog's owner, Steve Laug. Read & learn. I post there under "Upshallfan".

http://rebornpipes.wordpress.com/

duallogic

Lurker
Jan 15, 2013
Thanks for the info guys, I will have to look into this. I have purchased pipe cleaners, 70% rubbing alcohol, iodized salt, and Bar keepers friend. I'm on a fairly tight budget so finding a professional to do the work might be challenging.

duallogic

Lurker
Jan 15, 2013
rothnh,
Thanks for that info. I'll look into the stronger isopropyl or the Bacardi. Heard everclear works well too.

mlyvers

Can't Leave
Sep 23, 2012
i do not think you should use iodized salt. you will need kosher salt or sea salt. also use everclear. keep reading and you find out everything you will need for restoration of your pipes. you will need plenty of pipe cleaners a reamer for the inside of the bowl. you will also need bleach or oxyclean for your stems. then you need sand paper of various grits or micromesh pads. good luck too you.
take care.

mike.

tbradsim1

Lifer
Jan 14, 2012
Southwest Louisiana