Recommend a quality good 1st aromatic please!

SmokingPipes.com Updates

New Cigars

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

downr4nge

Lurker
May 22, 2016
Hello all, I'm new to pipe tobacco smoking. Like many others, I always loved the smell of my grandfather's pipe smoke. So I decided to give it a go. So far so good, I like it. I started with a $7 corn cob pipe with some Admiral's Choice cherry cevandish. I soon bought two basket pipes, one Capri *made in Italy* and the other is unknown. I've also took a liking to Captain Black's Good, and Cherry pouch tobacco. I smoke slow enough now as to where I don't get tongue bite. I am looking to purchase a quality Savinelli pipe and a good quality aromatic. What aromatics do you all recommend that's great quality?
It may be worth to note that I enjoy smoked half and half pipe tobacco and it was horrible; I might have well been smoking cigarettes as it smelled just like cigarettes. I don't want to smoke anything that smells like cigarettes.
Does my mixture 965 smell like cigarettes?

philobeddoe

Lifer
Oct 31, 2011
East Indiana
First off, welcome to the forum. Secondly, Dunhill 965 doesn't taste or smell anything like cigarettes, so you are safe there. As far as an aromatic to try...many people like MacBaren Vanilla Cream and even though I cannot recommend it, many also like Cult Blood Red Moon, which is a cherry aromatic. Since you are new to the pipe, I would also recommend that you try a blend called Frog Morton, it is a kind of crossover between aromatics and English tobaccos and it has a very large following.

jitterbugdude

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 25, 2014
I can't recommend an aro because I haven't found one I like.. :?