PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

quincy

Part of the Furniture Now
Feb 7, 2013
Let me preface this: DON'T JUDGE ME! I actually like the P-lip and I'm not terribly interested in whether or not you do.
So, for about a year now I've been jumping back and forth on whether or not I would get a Peterson System with a P-lip. Within that year, I've gotten several other pipes that I wasn't sure I'd ever see again if I didn't get them and I'm a little compulsive. However, I keep coming back to these system pipes from Peterson. I love the way they look. So, I'm thinking about taking the plunge finally. My question for you guys is that I noticed I can get a new one for about $115 give or take a few dollars from where I order it. Or if I wanted an Estate, they seem to go for about $85-$95. I'm not an estate expert by any means, but doesn't an estate (especially of such a popular pipe made in high quantity) usually go for about half the new price? Is it worth it to get an Estate or should I consider buying one new? $30 doesn't seem like that great of a difference...

petes03

Lifer
Jun 23, 2013
The Hills of Tennessee
Hey Quincy.

I've got several System pipes (all P-lips) and I love them all! I bought all of mine new for one reason. My reason is that I couldn't be sure if the previous owner had cleaned the well out after each smoke. If the well hasn't been cleaned in a long time it could sour, not to mention it would be hell to clean.

For $20 or $30 difference, I'd go with a new one on a System.

flakyjakey

Lifer
Aug 21, 2013
I DO JUDGE YOU!! And YOU HAVE NOTHING TO BE ASHAMED OF!!!!!
Peterson Systems are great. IMHO there is little or nothing wrong with P-lips, in fact on an all-day smoke I alternate them with fishtails to help avert tongue bite. They also have a great draw on them.