PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

frank13

Can't Leave
Oct 5, 2014
Bakersfield, CA
Forgive me if this topic has already been beaten to death... I'm new to exclusively smoking a pipe, and yesterday evening, I was outside of a restaurant having a post-dinner smoke. I was smoking the last of my tin of Villiger's 1888 Mid-Day. A man and his wife were coming out of the restaurant and paused to tell me how good it smelled. The man remarked that his foreman blows his cigarette smoke all over him, and he hates it, but he really liked the way my pipe er... pipe tobacco smelled.
My mother-in-law is very averse to cigarette smoke, but remarked today, how much she liked the smell of a pipe.
BTW: I live in California, which is probably the most anti-smoking state in the whole Union, but thus far, I've not had a single person wrinkle their nose or act like a pipe is anything but pleasant, and a reminder of a father, uncle, or grandfather who used to smoke a pipe.
Just wondering what other peoples' experience has been. I've been pleasantly surprised. :)

sablebrush52

The Bard Of Barlings
Jun 15, 2013
Southern Oregon
jrs457.wixsite.com
I live in California as well, and 99.9% of the responses, when there has been a response, have been affirmative. Only a few people suddenly start loudly coughing and putting their hands over their mouths and noses. I feel for those people, truly I do, as their uptightness will probably kill them. :puffy:

I'm in "smoke anywhere" Alabama, so take it anyhow you want. But, I find that smoking my pipe out and about starts a lot of great conversations. Probably conversations that I would never have had the opportunity without the pipe. I've only had one negative comment, and that was that I smelled like cigarettes by a customer. But, to be fair, to the untrained nose...