PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

pianopuffer

Can't Leave
Jul 3, 2017
NYC
First off, allow me to applaud the friendly and informative members of this wonderful forum. I'm relatively new to pipe smoking and have often found myself redirected to your site from a quick Google search about any number of questions a noob like me has to the world of pipe smoking. I always find the responses fair, honest and upfront. Thank you.
As I am beginning to build a modest collection of pipes, I am faced with the challenge of pipe storage. Due to young children in my house, I would rather not use a traditional pipe rack to allow them to rest between smokes.
I have seen nice wooden pipe boxes that seem to serve the purpose of holding tobacco and accessories but is this a good idea for pipe storage too? I understand the need for air circulation when drying/resting pipes, but I'd prefer to keep them under wraps from young, sticky fingers.
Thanks.

nevadablue

Lifer
Jun 5, 2017
I found this little 'cabinet' while searching for storage ideas. Sorry, I can't give credit because I have no idea where it came from. Google search. I like the fact that the pipes are behind glass and can be enjoyed while NOT collecting dust or kids messing with them.
35576223381_c58335557f_z_d.jpg

35538189052_e08b7732fc_o_d.jpg

jpmcwjr

Staff member
May 12, 2015
Carmel Valley, CA
Drawers work fine; there's enough air for the pipe to do its minimal breathing. And lack of light keeps oxidation down.

mawnansmiff

Lifer
Oct 14, 2015
Sunny Cornwall, UK.
If you're reasonably competent with using woodworking tools then you could build something along the lines of Nevadablue's image.
When I started out I made myself a twelve pipe rack thinking that would suffice. Big mistake! I'm now in the process of making plans for a 36 pipe rack.
Welcome to the forum by the way :puffy:
Regards,
Jay.

pianopuffer

Can't Leave
Jul 3, 2017
NYC