PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

judcasper

Can't Leave
Jan 9, 2019
As my introduction explains I'm brand new to pipe smoking and started with an ultra cheap pipe I bought from a pound/dollar store (it literally cost me £1).
Now, please, before you dismiss me as a joke I can assure you that even with a pipe that is practically a toy, it was enough to tell me I want to peruse this, and for that reason I'm looking to buy a real pipe (within my very limited budget, of course)
Anyway, the question I have is this: Should I automatically avoid pipes that have any kind of 'basket' insert in the bowl? I'm guessing these are for weed smokers, but that's all it is - a guess.
Thanks in advance.

crashthegrey

Lifer
Dec 18, 2015
Cobleskill, NY
www.greywoodie.com
You are correct. There are many good briar pipes to be had for $50 or so. Basket pipes (those unmarked ones in tobacco shops) can run less. Don't settle for anything less than a briar pipe. Unless you like smoking vegetables, and then you can grab a piece of corn, but I recommend briar for new guys.

judcasper

Can't Leave
Jan 9, 2019
I was considering this as my first 'real' pipe. As I say in my other post I'm a massive fan of the smaller pipe.
tumblr_pl30lb0HYS1w9drs0o1_400.png

luigi

Can't Leave
May 16, 2017
Europe
I would avoid any plastic pipes (that usually have that metal basket in the bowl). I have one cheap Chinese pipe, Fenshun, and when I realised that the only non plastic part was the "basket" I put it away immediately. I would recommend briar or corncob.

Life is too short for bad smokes. :)

judcasper

Can't Leave
Jan 9, 2019
I would avoid any plastic pipes (that usually have that metal basket in the bowl).
Thanks. This is was the answer I was expecting. At least I know now.
What's the make of that one?
I'm not sure, @olkofri, it just lists it as a 'Knights Pear Wood Budget Beginners Pipe 01'
Unsure of linking rules, but I can provide the website URL if need be.