PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
May 4, 2015
For some time now, I've dabbled in quitting cigarettes, sometimes successfully for a period of time but never with long-term success. I'm a pack-a-day smoker and I've really struggled giving it up - or even cut back with any significance.
I have been smoking a pipe for many years now as well, and more recently, much more frequently. I had delusions of grandeur about using the pipe as a tool to assist me in quitting, as I know some people have found success this way. For me at least, they are completely mutually-exclusive activities and I can't substitute one for the other. I often will enjoy a great bowl of tobacco in my pipe and then go smoke a cigarette. Even though there is some nicotine, even though I'm smoking, even though I'm doing all the hand-to-mouth with the pipe, I still reach for a cigarette when I'm finished. I know they are vastly different nicotine delivery systems, but still, the hope was there that ramping up the pipe smoking would help me reduce the cigarettes. The deal with the wife is - whatever I don't spend on cigarettes, I can spend on pipe tobacco, so I could essentially get a new tin for every two days I don't buy a pack of smokes. I am 15 no-cigarette-buying days in the hole right now :(
It's probably time for me to attempt to use other nicotine replacement methods like gum or patches. I wanted to reach out on here to see if anyone else has cigarette quitting experience with nicotine replacement while still enjoying pipe smoking. Or - if someone has been a cigarette and pipe smoker and had to give up both for a time to "detox" and then successfully returned to the pipe.
I'm hoping I can kick the cigarettes and retain the pipe smoking, without it being a trigger to pick back up the cigarettes.
Any thoughts on the subject would be appreciated.

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014