PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

pux3

Lurker
Feb 7, 2013
I'm new to pipesmoking and so far I've tried 2 different tobaccos in my pipe

Both tasted, if anything like ash.

The first one I tried was very cheap aromtaic and all the reviews I found on the internet were really bad but the second one received good feedback (W.O. Larsen 2013) and I am asking myself if I'm doing anything wrong?

Could it be the pipe (new, 30 euro at local tobacconist)?

When reading about pipesmoking it is mostly described as being delicious and so far my experience with it was definitely not.

I thought about trying another tobacco. Since I havn't tasted anything so far, I'm primarily looking for a tobacco with gets me at least some taste. Any recommendations? A friends dad said I should try Nightcap, do you agree?
Thank you for reading,

Jonas
Not native speaker so please excuse errors

judcole

Lifer
Sep 14, 2011
Detroit
I have not smoked the blend in question, nor can I find reviews of it, so I can't comment on it. Larsen tends to do Danish style aromatics, IIRC.
I can think of several things to mention, however.
Since you are a new smoker,I have to wonder about your smoking technique. One of the most important things a new smoker needs to learn is to smoke slowly. Sip it,don't take huge gulps. You may well be dealing with subtle flavors that will be lost if you puff on it like a train.
Your pipe is not broken in. This takes time. You are going to need to smoke a number of bowls in it before it will start smoking properly.
Also,make sure you are cleaning your pipe. Run a couple of cleaners through it after every smoke. Then let it rest - don't load it back up right away.
Patience is a virtue when it comes to pipe smoking, as it is in most other things in life. Good luck!
(ETA: Nightcap is pretty powerful stuff, and may not be the best choice for a new smoker!)

Jul 15, 2011
First off, welcome to the forum!