PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jlr1

Lurker
May 29, 2014
I have been smoking a pipe, on and off, for the past 40 years. With rare exceptions, I cannot tell the difference whether I am smoking a pipe that cost $800 or one that cost $50 (or even less). My collection ranges from a Dunhil, at the high end, to cobs, at the low end. Most of my pipes probably sold for between $150-$300. I am continually evaluating whether a direct relationship exists between purchase price and quality of smoke. I have found none. Here are the exceptions. I have smoked many an inexpensive, thin walled pipe that is just plain lousy and too hot to hold. So I stay away from pipes under say $50. However, I have found cobs that smoke just great and cost $10. What am I missing and what are your thoughts. Is there a relationship between purchase price(assuming new) and quality of smoke? I say no.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
At the high end, I surmise you get some assurance of excellence in smoking characteristics, materials, and also some artistic value that can raise the prices or put them over the moon. You can end up with a stinker, too. In the mid and low ranges you can get pipes that smoke as good as any, but you more often get compromises or outright problems. I guess it's a discussion whether less expensive "factory" pipes actually gain by the repetitious assembly line in their manufacture, or whether artisan work on each pipe gets the best results. Once you get above a few hundred dollars, I doubt you are getting improved smoking, but some of those intangibles mean a lot to many of us. Still, I always reassure new pipe smokers that they can get the best smoking possible with a well maintained cob and good blends. I believe that.

framitz

Can't Leave
Oct 25, 2013
I have some inexpensive good smoker and some expensive meh pipes but in general the expensive are better made lighter taste better with my Celsius queen and charatans