PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

abdulaziz

Might Stick Around
Oct 30, 2013
Hello everyone
I am new to the hobby & I searched for some answers but I couldn't find any, does anyone here engage in a regular work out and how pipe smoking affect your performance?.Am asking because Due to some health problems I had to go into a strict diet and vigorous work out, that was earlier this year before I begun to smoke pipes, and I was doing nearly an hour of Cardio with just a 2 minutes break, now after adopting the hobby I can't even finish half an hour unless I rest for 5 minutes or more and it's too hard for me to end my routine, I really don't know whether it`s the winter or it's the pipe smoking, or maybe both, that affected my performance!?.

gtclark

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 3, 2013
Unless you're inhaling, you shouldn't see any effect on your ability to breath or participate in the same activity as before. Now if you're trying to run with a pipe in your mouth, that's a different story :)

jon11

Oct 25, 2013
I've been working out all of my life and just started smoking a pipe daily for a little more than 3 years. My performance at the gym has'nt changed a bit. Nothing to do with your pipe smoking.

northernneil

Lifer
Jun 1, 2013
I used to play lacrosse at the NCAA and Junior A levels, and I have not noticed an issue as far as my cardio is concerned since picking up the pipe. That being said, my endurance is lower, but I blame that on lack of intensity, not my pipe smoking.

zack24

Lifer
May 11, 2013
All comes down to whether you inhale and how much you smoke...I ride my road bike 3 times a week at a fast pace...and notice a slight difference...not enough for me to worry about. If I was riding 200 miles a week and racing like I did back in the '90s, I wouldn't be smoking....now I find it's better to enjoy many things in moderation, than one thing to excess...

dervis

Lifer
Jan 30, 2012