PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

freakiefrog

Part of the Furniture Now
Dec 26, 2012
Mississippi
I've been a hobbyist woodworker for years..But here in the last few months I have taken a great interest and desire to convert my skills to more hand tool centered. I find the sound of the saw and planes to be as relaxing as my pipe. I find that my pipes only add to the air of relaxation and ease.
Are there any other woodworkers in the group?

freakiefrog

Dec 26, 2012
Mississippi
I think people in my generation and those after mine have thrown away the things of our past that it took us thousands of years to perfect like Metal work, wood work, making instruments ect. I find great pride and joy in feeling the wood in my hands as I work it, the smell it emits, the sounds.
I like to think that I'm trying to keep a craft like pipe smoking alive, in some small part.

Jun 4, 2014
I do both woodworking and metalworking. There is a certain joying in using sharp, well tuned hand tool. You feel it cutting, you hear it cutting, it gives feed back to the user that a power tool does not give.

brass

Lifer
Jun 4, 2014
United States
I was a cabinetmaker apprentices in my mid-teens. My mentor discouraged me from making a career of it because the industry was moving to pre-made, ready to hang cabinets. I miss the smells of wood working - from sawdust to wood glue to the burnt smell of fresh cut wood on the table saw.

Brass, yes the industry has shifted, but there are still houses that require handmade. I hired a cabinet maker to do my kitchen and smoking room. It wasn't cheap, but at least the spaces were very very small. So, there has to be some sort of market out there. Heck, I had to wait almost a month for him, and he still has to come back to finish my smoking room. He seems busy as heck.

freakiefrog

Dec 26, 2012
Mississippi