PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

anachronislad

Lurker
Oct 8, 2012
I'm new to pipe smoking and am a bit overwhelmed by all this lingo that's being thrown around. So to start I thought I'd get everyone's input on the different styles and shapes of pipes out there. Whatever you guys got I'd love to hear, I'm always looking for new information

jsiddle

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 24, 2012
Here is a chart to kinda help you differentiate one from the other...
From what I know (I am a rooke as well) you have straight, half bent, and full bent as far as the overall
shape of the pipe... then theres the bowl shapes... billiard is your most common I think, bulldogs and brandy are
pretty cool too...
Churchwardens are the real long ones...
As far as shapes go, I dont know too much if theres a certain "shape" that smokes better or worse than others, I am
pretty sure its all preference. The finish on the other hand, does affect the smoke.
Smooth pipes smoke hotter than rust or sandblast, and I am hearing churchwardens smoke cooler...
Correct me if I am wrong on any of this guys

mangers

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 11, 2012
pretty sure its all preference. The finish on the other hand, does affect the smoke.
I don't understand how you come to the fact that a finish determines how a pipe smokes. The finish has nothing to do with the plumbing of a pipe. I have pipes that are same shape, but one is smooth the other blasted and the smoking qualities are the same. I myself just don't see it, and I have been smoking pipes a long time.

mangers

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 11, 2012