PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

dragospiper

Lurker
Apr 27, 2017
Hello everyone, this is my first post,
I have smoked cigars for about a year and I decided to try pipes. I bought a Brigham voyageur 165 and some aromatic tobacco and went for my first smoke. I loved it, and I also smoked slow and cool to build a "cake" but.. after smoking, I dumped out the ash and went in my room. Im a college student so the dorm room is not very big, and the smell of burnt aromatic perfume and burn ash quickly filled the room. I had both windows open and the smell would not leave. Even after cleaning the pipe (the stem and everything except the bowl) hours have passed and my whole room still reeked really badly. I was desperate and decided to clean the bowl of the pipe as that was the only thing not cleaned, so I got a cotton pipe cleaner and gently scraped the bowl and now theres no smell. The pipe does not smell at all now and the room is free of the hideous smell. My concern is, will my cleaning method stop a cake from forming which in turn will burn out my pipe faster with time? Please help me and tell me how to clean the pipe so I don't have the smell in my room, while I can still have a cake form in my bowl.
Thank you so much!

dragospiper

Lurker
Apr 27, 2017
Thank you very much for the suggestion! I have thought of something like that, but wouldn't that trap the airflow and not fully dry out the pipe? Also would wiping the bowl just enough so it won't smell after each smoke not let my cake build, or after it builds ruin my cake at all?

dragospiper

Lurker
Apr 27, 2017
jpmcwjr Thank you. So doing my method of smoking then cleaning as I have described is good? (if so then I'm very excited to be able to smoke my pipe and not reek my room to the extreme!!)

philobeddoe

Lifer
Oct 31, 2011
East Indiana