PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

redbeard

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 2, 2013
I was looking around for cheaper reamers and found a few that fit my budget ATM but does anyone know how well they work?
image_zps789098a2.jpg

image_zps22530025.jpg

I know the best reamer would probably be the long adjustable type but those are a bit more than I was hoping to spend. I just need something to do the job.... Thanks!!

schmitzbitz

Lifer
Jan 13, 2011
Port Coquitlam, B.C.
As long as the construction isn't complete crap, the Butner style reamer (the second pic) works well, although I've found that (with mine, at least) they tend to ream the bowl in a conical manner. I've got no experience with the Dunhill reamer pictured, but once again, if the construction isn't crap, it should work just fine. Personally, I find that I tend to use either my Castleford T-handle or my Senior Reamer the most, with the edge going to the Castleford. That said, the cheapest reamer you can find is a dull-knife and patience, or perhaps some sandpaper wrapped around a dowel and elbow grease.

gmwolford

Lifer
Jul 26, 2012
WV, USA
I got the one, or very similar to it, from my local B&M and it is junk: began to bend on the first use and the rivets started coming loose. I got an Italian Buttner-style off the bay and its great for conical bowls, as was mentioned. The Castleford does a great job for under $20 and I've seen them go as low as $10 new on the bay.

sebastian

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 5, 2013
Ok, Im going to throw this out there...