PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jlr1

Lurker
May 29, 2014
Okay - I admit it, I can't tell the difference in smoking a $50 pipe from a $350 pipe. I have been smoking for almost four decades. I have been buying pipes for that entire time. When I can, I prefer to buy pipes in the $100-$200 range. I have convinced myself that at that price, it must be a good pipe. However, I have bought "name" pipes in that range that do not smoke as well as a $20 corn cob. So, I guess it is time to reach out for help. Putting aside the B&M $20 pipes with walls so thin they will cut your hand, what distinguishes the smoking characteristics in pipes in this general price range (read under $200) and is there any direct relationship between price and quality of smoke among these pipes? I am not talking about aesthetics --just smoking enjoyment. Thanks for the help.

frank13

Can't Leave
Oct 5, 2014
Bakersfield, CA
Of the few pipes that I have, I appreciate my cheaper Dr. Grabows as much as my Peterson. All are good smokers. Anyone else's mileage/preference may vary.

Jan 8, 2013
From my most expensive pipe down to my least expensive, it's not the price that makes a great smoker that I've noticed. I have a churchwarden I received for Christmas last year, no name, only marking "Italy," from the grain I'm sure it's pear wood, and I'm certain it was very low dollar.... however it is one of my best smokers. It doesn't get hot, and it stays lit with very little work on my part. I just finished smoking a Molto Dolce/Bagpiper's Dream mix in that pipe and as usual it was a great smoke. I think it depends on the pipe more than the make and brand, or even the artisan.

warren

Lifer
Sep 13, 2013
Foothills of the Chugach Range, AK