PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

tunek

Lurker
Jul 16, 2013
Any firsthand experience with any of those two?
http://www.peterson.ie/p/5295/314-standard
http://www.peterson.ie/p/5296/317-standard
I'm looking to get one...I'm a beginner BTW...I have Mr. Brog Old boy....
Thanks,
Anton

piperl12

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 7, 2012
I have the 317, it is a TINY bowl. Both in the hand and for tobacco chamber. Very light little pipe. If a woman was looking for a dainty pipe this would be perfect. In retrospect I wish I had got a bigger bowl pipe. It would take you about 10 to 15min to smoke a full bowl.

jgriff

Can't Leave
Feb 20, 2013
I have looked into both in the past and while similar the 317 is much smaller. Between the two, I would decide simply on size and how long you want you want your smokes to be. The 314 is a more "standard" size (about 3/4" bowl) while the 317 is only about 2/3".
If you only have the one other pipe, then I would recommend the 314. Personally, I see the 317 as a more niche pipe for short smokes, flakes, and/or walking ("lunting") as it's a bit lighter.

blueeyedogre

Lifer
Oct 17, 2013
I had a 317 and while I enjoyed it for short smokes I hardly used it as it just looked to ridiculous..... I even got accused of it being a toy pipe it was so small.

bluesmoke

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jun 21, 2013
I have a 314. It's comparable in size and capacity to a 303. The 314 is one of my favorites, a great smoke.

bryanf

Jul 16, 2013
I have a 317. I smoke it all day long, every day. No rest, no rest needed. My uncle does the same with his.