Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

conlejm

Lifer
Mar 22, 2014
I am a huge fan of Mac Baren's HH Old Dark Fired and smoke at least a bowl and usually two bowls per day. It is my current favorite, and have been partaking of the great 20% off sale at SmokingPipes.com, buying many tins for long-term storage, and buying bulk for current consumption.
I saw at Pipes & Cigars they also sell Peter Stokkebye 314 Dark Fired in bulk, so I ordered a pound of it (it's only ~$26/lb). Gonna do a taste test this weekend and will share what I learn. I am still fairly new to pipe smoking in earnest, so it will be a rookie review, but I am looking forward to it.

blendtobac

Lifer
Oct 16, 2009
I agree about the nicotine. I'd go with a small bowl as it's pretty potent stuff. In most blends I've used it in, I keep it at 10 to 25% of the mixture or it can overpower the flavor, and trigger some hiccups, too.
Russ

conlejm

Lifer
Mar 22, 2014
Good advice Russ, thanks. If it's too strong I may use it to blend. I have been meaning to try my hand at blending for a while.

kanaka95

Starting to Get Obsessed
Apr 2, 2014
OH YEAH BABY all dark fired Kentucky.Sounds like some a$$ kicking stuff.Let me tip my hat to ya conlejm.And the price 1lbs-just under 2lbs $1.68 an oz.Killer deal.Does anyone know if Kentucky ages well.It might actually be worth stocking up on and shelving.Especially if ya like it.Might buy a couple oz and try it.Reached my T.A.D. limit this month.But next month is right around the corner hehehehe.

andrew

Lifer
Feb 13, 2013
Good advice Russ, thanks. If it's too strong I may use it to blend. I have been meaning to try my hand at blending for a while.