Pairing War Horse by Standard Tobacco Co.

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

12pups

Lifer
Feb 9, 2014
Minnesota
Those of you who have a sample left, try your War Horse ready rubbed with a strong coffee, tell me if your experience matches mine.
I've got this new fascination with "palate" going on ever since the new winery underneath my office opened this summer. I never considered "balancing the palate" as anything more than taste. I didn't grasp the complexity of what's going on in the mouth. For me, balance was simply a matter of knowing "this has too much garlic than I like," or, "This needs more salt."
On its own, this new version of War Horse (I have no experience with the original) rolls a low-lying flavor over your mouth. It enters your mouth and then oozes slowly forth, wanting under your tongue, searching along your gums. It falls into your mouth and settles. That's nice.
I drink my coffee so strong it's almost the same. But it spreads from the top of my palate down. The two together do not compete. They team up. They wink at each other in an old-boy, "We got this" agreement and take over.
By contrast, when I had it with an icy Diet Coke, the Coke went on a search-and-destroy mission, and War Horse retreated from it in all directions.
Maybe that's true of other tobaccos, too. I'll try it some time.