PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

exibar

Lurker
Sep 28, 2015
I have one stem that I thought I buffed and scrubbed enough, but the oxidation appears to be coming back...
I use 3M rubbing compound, then 3M polishing compound, then a good carnuba wax to bring up the shine...
Should I be beginning with perhaps a 600/1000/1500/2000 grit sandpaper routine, then go into the compounds? instead of just using the rubbing/polishing/wax routine?
any thoughts as to what works best for y'all?
thanks!

Mike B

theediabeticman

Starting to Get Obsessed
May 5, 2014
I am NOT a professional - please don't use 600 grit...on my pipes I use a solution and 2400 grit and lowest I go is 1500

but let's wait to see what we can learn from a professional :)

xrundog

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 23, 2014
Ames, IA
You probably didn't get it all the first time. I use Soft Scrub with Magic Erasers and water to take off the oxidation. No material loss and no scratching. It makes buffing to a shine go much, much faster. Depending on the material and severity of oxidation it may take some work. When it looks black, check your work in sunlight. It will show what you missed.

exibar

Lurker
Sep 28, 2015
hehe, sorry I just threw some grits out there 600 probably would be too course for the stems :)
So the rubbing compound / polishing compound / carnuba wax method should get all the oxidation off? I use a dremel with a set of buffing / polishing pads on it... I'm used to using the dremel for other polishing items and have used it for decades, so I'm quite comfortable using it.

Just kinda new to restoring / deep cleaning pipes... could have sworn I got it all, I use a couple different lights for my bench, one is a natural light florescent... I guess the oxidation is "deeper" than I originally thought...