PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

andya27

Part of the Furniture Now
Jun 15, 2014
I've posted my great appreciation for this tobacco before, but it's worth mentioning again.
I've been smoking a pipe now for around three months. Orlik Golden Sliced was one of the tobaccos that early on people here suggested would be a great introduction to both flakes and mild Virginias. When I first received my 100g tin I really liked it. Now that I've purchased around 30 other tobaccos, many flakes and kakes, many Virginias, VaPers, English blends, Latakia bombs, Burleys, aromatics, etc. etc., I have to say that OGS remains right at the very top of the list of tobaccos I can smoke day in, day out, morning, afternoon, or evening - and consistently receive a wonderful smoke.
Although I have found myself gravitating to deeper, stronger, tobaccos, I find that they are best smoked on a very full stomach, or later in the day. OGS is an anytime, every time, smoke.
So when I want a smoke that I absolutely know I'm going to enjoy, or when I'm giving a new pipe its maiden smoke, OGS is the tobacco I reach for.
Most of us here have smoked it. And many of us enjoy it.
For those who have not yet had the pleasure, I highly recommend getting yourself a tin.

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
That's a great testimonial for a wonderful blend. I look forward to your comments on some of the other blends you have on hand, especially when compared to OGS.

voorhees

Lifer
May 30, 2012
Gonadistan
andy, while I also love OGS, I must ask you to not extol the virtues of this tobacco. People are going to rush out and buy up my inventory that I keep at various vendors. :nana:
Seriously, it is a fine flake and agree with you. :puffy:

andya27

Jun 15, 2014
Jason - I just sent the Orlik folks a note that they need to ensure they keep a steady supply for you :D
I find it difficult to compare OGS with any other Virginia flake, because I haven't found another like it.